Thirteen Harvests

If only I could grow coffee…

Welcome to Thirteen Harvests

Greetings and Happy New Year from my frozen garden in Hamilton, New Jersey!

image

Even though the ground is frozen, the compost pile is dormant and the flowers are all gone, there’s still a lot of work going on for the garden.

Here on Thirteen Harvests I hope to provide helpful information, interesting pictures and (hopefully) funny observations related to planning, planting, maintaining, harvesting and surviving the backyard gardening experience.  My advice and observations will be based solely on what I have seen and experienced.  Anything you read on this site which resembles scientific fact should be considered anecdotal evidence at best.  Anything you find useful should probably be considered the result of dumb luck, lucky guessing or a ghost writer.  Anything you find that is blatantly wrong…. well, that was probably written by the cats.

In any event, over time there should be a plethora of posts about gardening, the weather, seeds, organic sustainability, tools, my love of rain, techniques, tips, tricks, bugs, my hatred of rain, compost, supplies and weeds.  There may even be posts about the birds and/or the bees.  There might or might not be pictures of some or all of the above.  From time to time, recipes for things you can cook or eat from the garden, as well as recipes for good compost, might slip in.

Did I mention compost?

I like compost.

I even sang a song about compost when I auditioned for a part in “The Music Man” in the summer of 2010.  Clearly, this was a bright spot in the day for anyone who experienced it.  Amazingly, I even got a part in the show!

So, kick back, relax and enjoy a nice cup of coffee while reading about my gardening escapades.  Here at Thirteen Harvests, I quite enjoy the coffee – I just wish I could grow my own.

Thirteen Harvests – bringing forth more vegetarians, one backyard at a time.

2 responses to “Welcome to Thirteen Harvests

  1. Matt January 8, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    “So, kick back, relax and enjoy a nice cup of coffee while reading about my gardening escapades. Here at Thirteen Harvests, I quite enjoy the coffee – I just wish I could grow my own.”

    As I am about to settle in and start reading, I now must now first pause to brew a cup. Thanks for the subliminal suggestion, Rob.

  2. Rob January 8, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    Coffee is always the answer, Matt!

Leave a comment